One More Thing About The Daniel Prayer

As I am reading the book, The Daniel Prayer, it should be no surprise that there is a lot more to it than what is in the videos. But the videos are a good starting point, for sure.

I laughed at certain parts because she sounds so much like me. I am not a morning person, either, but Anne knew that she had to get up early to set aside time, to be focused on the commitment to meet God in prayer. She would have a hard time of it, giving God a variety of excuses why she didn’t get up. (She was up too late the night before, for instance.) Finally, God sent her a message while she was reading what Jesus said, in the beginning of the Book of Revelations, to the seven churches.

Now you will have to agree that Anne is a busy person. All the Grahams are. They are way busier than the women I see posting pictures of their overflowing laundry baskets on the web because they are “too busy” to do the laundry. (I would say they are too lazy. It takes more time to go take a picture of the dirty laundry, log onto their Facebook pages or whatever blog they are commenting on with their photo and upload the photo and type a comment, than it would be to just put the wash in the machine, add detergent and start the machine! I have two sons and when they were little, I still did the laundry, cleaned the house, made dinner. When they were a little older–ages 10 and 5—and I was working a full time job, I still did the same things. So these women have NO excuse.)

Back to what God revealed to Anne. She paraphrased what He said to her when she was reading about those seven churches. I will share it with you here so you know how God views your “too busy” excuses for your lack of prayer.

“Anne, I hold you in one hand and the Holy Spirit in the other hand, like balance scales. I’ve weighed your life against His and you don’t measure up. I know what you have been doing. You are in ministry, traveling around the world, telling other people about Me and getting them to listen to My voice, but you are not listening to Me yourself. You have a reputation of being alive—people regard you as an exemplary Christian—but from my perspective you are falling short—spiritually dying on the inside. The prayers of your prayer team are not a substitute for your own prayers. Wake up!… I have not found your deeds complete in My sight because you are prayerless. Remember, therefore, what I have told you and repent.” (emphasis mine)

Okay….I don’t need to say more. If God said that to me, I’d be up early the next morning! But that is what He is doing! And to everyone who has just read this. Needless to say, Anne went out to a gadget store at the mall and bought the loudest alarm clock they had. Well, it worked! She woke up as if shot out of a canon, blew her husband awake and he shouted, “What in the world is that?!” That’s not to say I don’t pray. I do, but I know there is always room for improvement and I know the Lord wants me to get up early to spend more time with Him.

So this concludes the posts on the Daniel Prayer for now. There may be more as I learn more. God bless you all.

About warrriorforchrist

I am a Christian, a mother and a grandmother. I have two grown sons, who I love dearly, three grandchildren: two boys and one girl by each of my sons. I love design and went to college for it.
This entry was posted in Christian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One More Thing About The Daniel Prayer

  1. Prayer and study of the Word; two key things that supersede all things in life.

  2. It’s hard to believe some Christians don’t pray. It’s a dangerous place to be. And scary.

  3. Walter says:

    I am sure others have said it better but if we don’t fill our mind with Christ through study and prayer, then we leave it open to be filled with anything and everything else.

Leave a Reply

