Stop The Presses!

I got the book “The Uninvited” and I was all anxious to start reading it the next day. Curiosity got the best of me so I went and opened it up to a random spot, counting on God to guide me. Well, He did. But the results were not as I expected. I opened up to page 165 and began reading. It was fine. She was talking about the time Jesus went for a walk on the lake and the disciples were terrified and thought they saw a ghost. She mentions the Greek word “tarasso” which means “to set in motion what needs to remain still.” That’s true. I looked it up on an online lexicon. I went on to read some more, being intrigued,until I got to page 169.

Here is where it all changed. Referring again to the time Jesus walked on water, (That would be Mark 6:45.) Jesus says, “Be of good cheer: it is I; be not afraid.” Lysa worked out of a different translation and said that Jesus said, “Don’t be afraid.” Same thing. But in the very next sentence she says: “The word used here means “don’t resist me.”And He climbed in the boat with them.” All right…something is off. I have a Hebrew-Greek Keyword Bible so I looked the verse up. The word “afraid” is underlined and has the number 5399. What that means is that when I look up (in the back of the Bible) in the New Testament (Greek) section what 5399 is, I will get the Greek word and all the possible meanings. The word in Greek is phobeo; to frighten, to be alarmed, to be in awe of, be afraid, fear, reverence. From Phobos–fear. To put in fear, terrify, frighten. (This is where we get all the words that end in phobia.) No where in the entire definition does it say anything about resist.

Being annoyed about this, I mentioned it to my son, David (a pastor), and he said to double check online by Googling the word and pick the lexicon definition that comes up. (to give the author the benefit of the doubt and also there might be some far-flung definition out there.) So I did. Same definition. Phobeo-to put to flight, to flee, to fear, to be struck by fear, to be alarmed…. You get the drift. So where on earth did Lysa TerKeurst come up with “don’t resist me”? Because it is wrong. Here is the lexicon: http://www.biblestudytools.com/lexicons/greek/kjv/phobeo.html

The Greek word for resist is anthistemi, which is pronounced anth-is-tay-mee. http://biblehub.com/greek/436.htm It means “I take a stand against, oppose, resist.” No where does that appear in the sentence where Jesus is telling his disciples not to be afraid.

I am greatly disappointed. If you quote scripture, and especially if it is the words of Jesus Christ, you better be right! And double check what you have written so there are no errors and you don’t lead someone astray. I am sorry I got excited about this book. I’m not even going to waste my time reading it. Because if there is one glaring error there might be more.

I should know better by now. Every time I read an excerpt from a book and get excited about it and then order it, I find it is not what I thought but a big disappointment. I apologize to all my readers for being misguided.

So I had to write this to inform anyone out there about it and I hope no one ordered the book.

About warrriorforchrist

I am a Christian, a mother and a grandmother. I have two grown sons, who I love dearly, three grandchildren: two boys and one girl by each of my sons. I love design and went to college for it.
This entry was posted in Christian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Stop The Presses!

  1. Walter says:

    I can’t see inside Lysa’s heart so I suppose I should give her the benefit of the doubt but you are right to be cautious. People can and do make honest mistakes, myself included. But to be so far off, literally fabricating something out of thin air, I have to wonder what her motivation was. Does she have some subtle hidden agenda, or is she just letting her emotions get the best of her? It may be perfectly innocent on her part but I have seen things like this before with other popular “Christian” authors. The term “psycho-heresy” may be appropriate here. That’s when someone tries to turn the bible into a book of self-help or psychology. It is really a very subtle form of deception designed to take you down a path that seems all innocent but will actually lead you away from the truth and the light. I don’t know if this is a genuine example of deliberate deception but it sounds an awful lot like something we read in Genesis 3, starting in verse 1…

  2. Yes, that comment was way off base and it destroy’s a person credibility. The first “tell” that something was wrong was that she didn’t give a scriptural reference and did not say what the Greek word would be. Nonetheless, I wrote what the Greek word was for afraid. Definitely not resist. The whole thing is wrong.
    And the excerpt that I had read before I got the book did impact me emotionally. I guess that is where the hook was.

  3. I checked, NASB, CSB, NIV, ESV(modern perversions) for ambiguity, all of them use the Codex, and that one word phobeo is used in text. Since the error is easy to find, I am curious as to what the motivation behind this is as it is truly questionable. The obvious answer is something that requires much prayer.

  4. That’s what makes it worse; that it’s easy to find. The scenario about Jesus walking on water is referred to elsewhere and how the disciples were clueless and in the midst of His miracles, they still didn’t get it. Well, one factor to consider, which was not mentioned, was that they did not have the Holy Spirit yet. What a huge difference that makes! There were other areas where she defined a word but did not say what the Greek word was, even if she was right in that particular case. It’s actually important to the reader to see what the Greek word was so they could look it up for themselves. Not everyone has a Hebrew-Greek keyword Bible.
    But that particular mistake that I pointed out was glaring.
    She goes on in another area about how empty women feel when using Facebook. How about not using it? It’s the devil’s playground. It’s like when I see women complain about how much undone housework and laundry they have, even taking pictures of overflowing laundry baskets, instead of getting up and throwing the dirty clothes into the washing machine. No where in the Bible does it say “Thou shall Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest…”
    AND…while all this is going on, I keep thinking of the persecuted Christians in the Middle East running for their lives from ISIS or being tortured and raped by them, the persecuted ones in North Korean prisons shoveling human waste day in and day out and others over in China. These unknown persecuted Christians whose name we don’t know or their faces, deserve more consideration than the spoiled Christian here.

  5. SharaC says:

    This is really interesting, you did great research. I’m currently reading this book so now I’m intrigued. God’s Word is always, always enough. It speaks for itself, never needs to be embellished… thanks for this!

  6. You’re welcome. I was just shocked that such an obvious error is in the book and I have no idea how many more are in there and I don’t understand why on earth the author did that. On one page (I think 165) she gave the Greek word for the English word and the meaning. Yet on page 169, she omitted the Greek work entirely and gave a completely wrong meaning. It turned me off to the whole book. Yes, the Bible is enough and stands on its own.

Leave a Reply

