Radical Faith

What is radical faith? I hope to illustrate it here in this post. The reason I am writing this is because I am in a situation that requires it. I had previously written about my son, David, and how sick he is. He is going to undergo a procedure on his heart on March 7th, 2017. He is so ill he can barely make it through the day. Needless to say, I have been beseeching God for his healing every day. As I am going through this with him, I have often wondered as to the why of it, as most Christians often do when confronted with something catastrophic or life-threatening.

God does not do things willy-nilly and there is always a purpose for everything we go through. Of course, He wants us to draw near to Him, to be closer to Him. That’s a given. But what if there is something else brewing below the surface? What if He is using this particular trial to accomplish something great?
“Now unto Him that is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all we ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us.” (Ephesians 3:20 KJV)
I bought a book by my favorite Christian author, Priscilla Shirer, titled “God Is Able.” It is perfect for this situation and any situation you find yourself in because she addresses everything you can possibly feel while going through it. I never once doubted God’ ability to heal. But she took it a step further and said He would do it, He would intercede on my son’s behalf, on your behalf for whatever you are going through because He is KIND. I also know this because Jesus said whatever we ask for in His Name, the Father will do it. Healing is in Jesus’ nature. He healed thousands when He walked the earth and many times more since then. And it is also stated in Matthew 8:17 “That it might be fulfilled which was spoken by Esaias, the prophet, saying Himself took in our infirmities and bare our sicknesses.”

Going back to what He might be working out in this case is most likely multifaceted. He is working something out in David and He is definitely working something out in me. Because, in spite of what people see on the outside, they will never see my interior life with God. It might manifest itself in some ways as it comes to the surface but the deep down thoughts of my heart are for His eyes only. What request of my heart is He about to grant using this health crisis my son is going through? [I also have another son, Derek, who desperately needs Divine Intervention and also healing at the same time, too. In fact, a complete spiritual overhaul and strengthening.]

First, let us look at two very prime examples of radical faith and what it can do. In both cases, it did not take an entire congregation praying for the person. It only took the faith of one. In Matthew 8:5-13 we read the story of the Roman Centurion who came to Christ to ask that his servant be healed. Christ was ready to go with him right then and there, but the Centurion tells Him that he is not worthy enough for Christ to enter his house. Instead, the Centurion says, “say the word and my servant will be healed.” He then uses himself as an example of one who orders commands and asks Christ to do the same. Jesus, astounded at this man’s faith, his radical faith, heals the servant immediately.

In Matthew 9:18-20 we read that Jesus is on his way to resurrect a young girl who is sick and will die. But as he is about to do this miracle, a woman who has bled for many, many years creeps up behind him, saying in her heart that if she can just touch the end of his cloak, she will be healed. No one else is paying attention to her, no one else is praying for her. She is alone in this with the exception of God, Himself, who is but a step away from her. So with her radical faith, she reaches out and touches his cloak. Jesus immediately feels it and turns to ask who touched him. His disciples tell him in disbelief how can he ask this when there is a crowd pressing up against him. It is then that the woman reveals herself and Jesus tells her that her faith has made her whole. She was healed at that instant.

So what I am praying for is David’s complete and total healing. But deep inside of me I want to be changed, radically changed. I want a faith so rock solid that nothing will shake me. Not only do I want to be a profitable servant, I want to be weapon in the Hands of my Almighty God and Savior. So while satan has been driving a knife into my heart, I want to take out my sword and cut his head off! I want God to use me in ways I never would think possible.

David’s healing will have a galvanizing affect on our little church as well as a riveting affect on those who don’t even believe. Because I know once he is healed, he will be an unstoppable warrior in the hands of God. Just as I will be, just as others will be. An unstoppable, fearless weapon.

About warrriorforchrist

I am a Christian, a mother and a grandmother. I have two grown sons, who I love dearly, three grandchildren: two boys and one girl by each of my sons. I love design and went to college for it.
This entry was posted in Christian, health, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Radical Faith

  1. Walter says:

    Well spoken, indeed! I too desire this kind of radical faith, and radical change within. As a side note, I learned something interesting about the woman’s faith you site in Matthew 9. The first part of Malachi 4:2 reads “But unto you that fear my name shall the sun of righteousness arise with healing in his wings…” The word translated “wings” here could also be edge, skirt or corner (of garment). The word “hem” in Matthew 9:18 can also mean the same thing. The woman was most likely familiar with the old testament scripture and it would seem she saw Jesus as the “son” of righteousness. So her faith was not just wishful thinking but genuine faith based on God’s word. One other thought on that topic. When Jesus asked who touched him, it is possible that he didn’t actually know. But I am wondering if perhaps he did know, but just wanted to make a positive example of the woman, for her benefit as well as his disciples. Making her “confess” in front of the crowd would show that what she did was actually very commendable and that she should not feel guilty or fearful about it. We all need to exercise this kind of faith, founded on the word.

Leave a Reply

