I Ended The Detox

When I got to day 4 I was so sick of smoothies that I could not even drink another one after I forced the breakfast one down. Plus…I woke up at 4 AM and nearly lost my mind that I had another bad night of little sleep. I felt delusional all day and disoriented and dizzy. Finally at some point in the late morning I decided I had enough! This was way too insane for me. I basically blew the whole week without accomplishing anything. So I ordered Chinese food delivered and scarfed down sesame chicken, pork fried rice, steamed dumplings and two spring rolls. It tasted good.

The Bullet got packed up and I took it back to Kohl’s the following day. I actually had a sense of relief once I made the decision to stop the insanity. This sort of detox is not for everyone. I was told that many succeeded and that others dropped out. I just could not stand to drink another smoothie no matter what the promise. They were awful and I hated the texture of them. Blech! I think also the combination of a vegetable with a lot of fruits was a bit much for my system. I did not lose an ounce during that time but was told that if I stuck it out the weight would have come off and great things would have happened. I can’t even explain adequately how awful I felt. There are other ways of detoxing that does not put one in a warp speed downward spiral.

So now back to my normal life.

About warrriorforchrist

I am a Christian, a mother and a grandmother. I have two grown sons, who I love dearly, three grandchildren: two boys and one girl by each of my sons. I love design and went to college for it.
This entry was posted in Vegan and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Ended The Detox

  1. I totally can imagine what you went through. It’s not easy to stick to one sort of “food”. I had tried a 3 day juicing detox and totally failed. An Ayurvedic nutritionist then told me that raw vegetables just don’t work for me and I shall rather swap to soups. I now often eat a soup at night and I feel sooo good the next morning! Also I am trying to eat easily digestible foods for dinner so as not to put my digestive tract under too much pressure – my sleep has improved! Maybe smoothies just don’t work with your body…?!? Good luck finding out! 😄

  2. I think it was more the texture of the smoothies and the taste of the vegetable and fruit combination. Cabbage and fruits or collard greens and fruits. Blech! Plus when you do a detox, toxins flood the bloodstream reeking havoc on your mind. I had neuro-toxin overload which accounts for the dizziness and disorientation and irrational thoughts. It also makes one very cranky.
    Ayurveda is interesting and works off what dosha you are. I am not that into Eastern belief system though.

Leave a Reply

