7 Day Intense Detox

The Detox

Genesis 1:29- Then God said, “I give you ever seed-bearing plant on the face of the whole earth and every tree that has fruit with seed in it. They will be yours for food.”

Starting July 13th and ending July 19th I will be on a nutritional cleansing detox. I get newsletters from a website called Living Raw by Grace. The blogger on that site, Haley Cloud, has totally transformed herself and her health by going raw vegan. She started out in her young life besieged by illnesses and weight gain. She was taking a lot of medications. She managed to free herself of all the medications and lost a lot of weight by changing her diet drastically. She read this book by Victoria Boutenko which was a 12 step program to going raw. She said she went through the most difficult detox in her life by going raw overnight. But she succeeded. Now she offers help to others. P Here is the link to her site: http://www.livingrawbygrace.com/

Periodically she has week long detoxes in which the participants drink nothing but green based smoothies all week long and no solid food. I had seen this over and over again during the course of a year or more. Suddenly, I wanted to do this. I think because I had tried everything else and have been sick and tired of being sick. I had been vegetarian and vegan for three years but it never improved my health. I could not understand why others felt better but I never did. Well something was missing. Through reading up on Boutenko I discovered some of my mistakes. I can’t tolerate gluten or dairy and will start coughing, sneezing like crazy until I take an over the counter allergy pill to stop it. So I switched to gluten free products. The only thing with those products is they will cause you to gain weight because they are often made of flours from high glucemic sources like rice and potato starch.

I decided to see if there was anything to this week long detox. So I jumped in and signed up. I began to try making green based smoothies on my own while corresponding with Haley to prep my body for the detox. I would put green leafy vegetables into the blender along with two cups of water and fruit. What I discovered is that my little Black and Decker cheap blender could not break down the greens and I still had to chew. Going on Haley’s advice, I put the greens and water in first, then blended the daylights out of the greens and then added the fruit. It worked better but not 100% broken down. Anyway, on Saturday morning I had it with the blender. It would not lock into the base and in one instance water came pouring out of the blender jar. ARRGGG! I had only 1 hour of sleep the night before because of a bad pain in my left leg. I had no patience for the blender. I could not afford the Cadillac of all blenders, the Vitamix, because the cost is stratospheric for me right now. SO…seeing that Kohl’s had the Bullet Rx blender on sale for $179.99 from $249.99 and I had two Kohl’s coupons I could use, I decided to put a Bullet on my Kohl’s charge even though I have a small credit line. I had read reviews on the Bullet and there were some complaints like one person said that the gasket ended up inside the blender jar and he had bits of gasket in his smoothie. Well, when I got the Bullet home and read the instructions, I discovered that the customer did not follow the instructions accurately and messed up his blender. So I put the Bullet together and after washing the parts I was going to use, I tried it out. NO problem whatsoever. The 2.3 HP motor whipped those greens and anything else i put in there to a nice smoothie with no particles in it. Now I have a blender that worked and I saved a total of $110 in the process. Yay!

Even though I am not on the full blown detox until tomorrow morning, I have already experienced improvements in a short time and even though I was eating cooked foods and meat. Yes I stopped being vegan about two years ago but still tried to take care of myself by juicing. And if it was not for the pain in my leg this weekend, I’d be in better shape and not feeling like death. I got a total of 4 hours sleep this weekend. I did take naps but my body needs some serious recovery time.

Anyway, I am going to chronicle the detox here as I progress in it starting tomorrow morning. I am looking forward to some amazing results. Like more energy for starters.

I do have Victoria Boutenko’s book which I am reading and I was stunned by the improvements in her family’s health. Her son who had diabetes no longer has it. He had it so bad, that he was told he was going to go blind. But that never happened thanks to Victoria’s relentless persistence in finding a way to help her son and her husband, daughter and herself.

About warrriorforchrist

I am a Christian, a mother and a grandmother. I have two grown sons, who I love dearly, three grandchildren: two boys and one girl by each of my sons. I love design and went to college for it.
This entry was posted in Vegan and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

