Never Eating Shrimp Again

Most of our seafood comes from Thailand and Southeast Asia, particularly shrimp. After reading the horrific story of one man who was lured to the fishing industry by the promise of money but ended up being a slave, I have decided against eating certain types of fish. There story is here: http://www.msn.com/en-us/news/world/myanmar-fisherman-goes-home-after-22-years-as-a-slave/ar-AAcp47L

This poor man, Myint, and many like him ended up being slaves on Thai fishing boats where they are beaten, starved, and chained; forced to work long hours and told they will never see home again. This man had not seen his family for 22 years. Myint left home to go find work to help his mother but ended up being kidnapped and used as a slave with many others. He was terrorized by the boat captains who promised certain death to those who tried to escape.

Eventually, he did escape and it was an arduous journey filled with fear that someone would catch him and send him back to being a slave all over again. It did happen once. But when he was finally free he made his way back to his family who were in shock to see him. His little sister was now grown up and his mother was gray-haired. His mother collapsed at one point but was revived by her son.

I went online and did a search to find out where our fish come from. I think I came up with two that are not supplied by Southeast Asia and that would be sockeye salmon from Alaska and pollack which also comes from Alaska. With regards to tuna, I will read the label to see the country of origin. Any place but Thailand would be acceptable. But if it only says Southeast Asia, I won’t buy it just in case. I am leery of my cats’ food, although the oldest one is being fed Blue Wilderness which I trust. Someone needs to do something to stop slavery in Thailand. Or just totally boycott anything coming from Thailand. You really need to read the story of this poor Myanmar man.

About warrriorforchrist

I am a Christian, a mother and a grandmother. I have two grown sons, who I love dearly, three grandchildren: two boys and one girl by each of my sons. I love design and went to college for it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

