Into the Light + Vegan

Okay I think I am done with the negative stuff for now. It’s too draining. So back to talking about more positive things.

I’m ending my days as the household cook starting August 5th. Wahoo!! I think it is time I just cook for myself and my friend, Walter, who lives with us. He had decided to take the plunge and eat what I eat. I told him he will feel way better once he changes his eating habits. Plus now that I will be free from having to cook for the others in my household, I can now really get into all those recipes I saw in Vegetarian Times, which I get in the mail, along with their newsletters.  Until then I have been eating salads, some sandwiches, veggie burgers, some stir fry, and an occasional Amy’s Gluten Free and Dairy Free macaroni and cheese, which is a comfort food for me. I love veggie burgers and buy Dr. Praeger’s California Burger because it is vegan and also gluten free. Plus it tastes good.

I picked up a book (Walter paid for it) at Barnes and Noble that is entirely about kale. So I have more recipes for that vegetable. Plus there is a lot of very useful information on it as well as a few side bars on other foods that are used in some of the recipes. It was well worth getting and not that expensive. Only $14.99, plus I had a 20% off Barnes and Noble coupon. It is cheaper if you buy it online, though. http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/kale-stephanie-pedersen/1113500393?ean=9781454906254 I should add that I have read that you should add a little bit of either vinegar or lemon juice to kale so as to make it more bioavailable to the body.

I also bought some Hemp Oil and Hemp Hearts from Manitoba Farms in Sprouts Marketplace yesterday. I use Hemp Hearts on my salads but found a recipe for including it in hummus. It is very high in Omega 3, 6 and 9. One of the employees that I spoke to in the supplement department of Sprouts told me that Hemp oil is the closest thing to fish oil. He also said that flax oil has to go through several processes in the body in order for the omega 3 to be used by the body. But not the case with hemp. I had asked him about it because I could not make up my mind whether to get the hemp oil or the flax oil. I got hemp.

Hemp is green, thus contains chlorophyll which the body can use. I decided to use it in place of olive oil in salad dressings and also poured about a tablespoon into the hummus that I made last night. Which reminds me…I have to dump the hummus back into the food processor today. I learned not to make hummus when dead tired because I will forget an ingredient. In this case, I forgot one of the main ingredients…tahini! I might also make some basil pesto and add a little of that to the hummus.

About warrriorforchrist

I am a Christian, a mother and a grandmother. I have two grown sons, who I love dearly, three grandchildren: two boys and one girl by each of my sons. I love design and went to college for it.
This entry was posted in Vegan and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

