Why Eating Green and Other Colors is Important

Unless you have been living under a rock or have no access to information in any form, you already know the importance of eating green. That’s green leafy vegetables and other vegetables in the orange/red/purple categories.

I did an experiment on myself. Instead of having my breakfast smoothie made with kale, spinach, celery or whatever else I have on hand, like beets with Vega One added to it, I skipped it entirely and waited for lunch when I ate a veggie burger (no gluten) with vegan cheese on top and maybe on two slices of Ezekiel Flax bread. I might have eaten the same for dinner with the addition of Amy’s dairy free and gluten free macaroni and cheese. I can tell you straight away I didn’t feel right. I felt heavy and bloated, instead of feeling good and light. The difference between eating my usual fare of smoothie for breakfast, salad made of good greens like kale, arugula, spinach, pea sprouts, tomatoes, any other veg I have on hand, plus hummus which I make myself, two or three tablespoons of hemp hearts, and avocado. I might throw in sliced strawberries and mango on the side. Dinner will be a vegan burger or something I have made with tofu, like Chinese stir fry and more salad.

When I eat the way that makes me feel good, I eat less and have less craving for carbs, sugar and starches like potatoes, bread, rice and even grains. It’s just the way my body reacts to things which is why I am different than others. But the difference is noticeable right away. There is nothing wrong with potatoes, rice and grains. I love them but I have to eat it in moderation and infrequently. The micro nutrients in greens and other vegetables actually feed your body way more effectively than eating heart attack steak, for instance. My body actually craves green and when I don’t feed it, it lets me know how dissatisfied it is with what I am throwing in it.

On a side note, making your own hummus is better than buying it pre-made in the supermarket. I use organic chick peas, cumin, Himalayan sea salt, two cloves of garlic, cayenne and tahini. I also can add other things like turmeric and black pepper. I read on Dr. Weil’s site that adding black pepper when using turmeric aids in the absorption of turmeric. Turmeric is an excellent anti-inflammatory spice used in curries.
http://www.drweil.com/drw/u/QAA400915/Curcumin-or-Turmeric.html

When I go to buy my vegetables at the farmer’s market or Sprouts Marketplace, I always look the greens on the beets because I actually eat them. I chop them up and add it to my salad along with the beets, either red or golden, that I have roasted in the oven. Beets, by the way, will lower blood pressure in those who have high blood pressure pretty fast. I read it somewhere but forgot where. I told my daughter-in-law about it and she uses it in her smoothies and eats it in the salads I prepare. She has actually lowered her blood pressure significantly (she has been suffering with hypertension since she was 12), although she is not vegan or vegetarian. She also takes one or two tablespoons of Bragg’s organic apple cider vinegar with mother (the natural residue of the apples) in some water with honey. So it proves that those who are still meat eaters can have health benefits from what vegan’s eat. Of course, they would be a whole lot healthier if they gave up meat.

I don’t entirely avoid grains and need to tell you the importance of having grains like quinoa, amaranth and millet. They are all suitable for those who need to avoid high glycemic index foods and also contain an abundance of amino acids and other nutrients. Quinoa has all 9 essential amino acids which the body needs. This is for those who insist that you need to eat meat for protein. Rubbish! The human body can get it from plant sources.

The one veg you won’t see in my refrigerator is iceberg lettuce. I don’t see the nutritive value of it. I never make any salad with it. I go for the denser and darker greens and sprouts which I get from a farm that produces a lot of them using aquaponics.

With all the horrors I have read about what has been done to animals on this planet, it is much wiser to save the animals and go vegan. Of course, I still have intense anger towards those universities that are still using animals for testing and medical experiments. Horrible, horrible torturous things they are doing to them when they have on-hand equipment that will simulate the same thing they are torturing poor cats, dogs, and pigs for. But that’s a whole different post.

In the meantime, go to the market and buy organic vegetables and start on the road to good health. Or grow your own. You can make a salad table and have it right there in your own backyard if you don’t have space for a regular garden.
http://www.marthastewart.com/250282/how-make-salad-table-part-1?search_key=salad%20table

I will also recommend this site for those who are interested in becoming vegan. I have actually enrolled in this some time ago and it’s rather fun. It’s a 21 day kickstart vegan program. The PCRM group is the organization that also exposes the horrible things that are being done to animals.
http://www.pcrm.org/health/diets/kickstart/kickstart-programs/
They now have a kickstart program at the beginning of the month and you can also sign up for kickstart India if you like Indian food. Even those who are already vegan can go check out the recipes!

About warrriorforchrist

I am a Christian, a mother and a grandmother. I have two grown sons, who I love dearly, three grandchildren: two boys and one girl by each of my sons. I love design and went to college for it.
This entry was posted in Vegan and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

