WONDERSTRUCK

For all Christians, those contemplating getting to know God or anyone who has heard of God, should read this book. Wonderstruck:Awaken to the Nearness of God by Margaret Feinberg. I can’t recommend it enough. It’s like breathing for the first time. For anyone who loved Ann Voskamp’s 1000 Gifts, this will blow you away.

I have the digital copy only because I purchased the hard copy (which still is yet to arrive at my door) prior to Christmas. I received a link to download it on an eReader. I don’t own an eReader but my granddaughter, who resides in the room next to mine, has a Nook. So I asked Alex if I could download the book onto her Nook. Of course, she said. I didn’t have a  clue as to how to download it, never having used a Nook before, but Alex did. So she did it for me. I am still in the process of reading it as this all took place today. I plan on sending a copy to my friend, Walter, in Florida as soon as Barnes and Noble has it available to ship.

I’m so excited about this book that I am posting about it even though I haven’t finished it yet. It’s that good. It’s an invitation from God to know Him on a whole new level. Something I needed for a long time. Something everyone needs. But this just isn’t a peek into the character of God. It’s blowing the doors off the hinges getting to know Him and be razzle-dazzled by Him and be awestruck…wonderstruck. I can’t wait to be wonderstruck by God.

I was amazed at some of the things that Margaret brought out about being in nature to connect to God. I knew this all along. I used to drive up to the mountains when I lived in Camp Verde, Arizona and filled a journal of my times with God there and collected leaves and wild flowers that I pressed into my journal. How magnificent to learn that He really was there, too! The times I imagined in my mind that He was walking along side me as I asked Him how He came up with the idea to make a certain flower leaf that way, He really was there walking along side me. And then when I got into my truck and drove off, I pictured Him still standing by the tall pines and oaks, watching me leave. Now I know He put that image into my head. What a revelation! Thank you, Margaret!

Then when I  moved from Florida to Phoenix, I drove up to the mountains again and went to the Payson area and beyond to be with Him. Then…my transmission started acting up. I can’t buy a new one because I don’t have the money for it. So…I can’t get up to the mountain. Where I live there is not much in the way of nature. It’s sad because I so miss that time on the mountain with Him. But I am not without hope. He will direct me to someplace where we can be together. All of our little secret meeting places had been in a natural setting.

So many different places over the years…He was there! Even the time in Dead Horse State Park where I saw in my mind’s eye that He had been sitting on one of the benches and there were angels, standing or sitting on benches, surrounding Him while I was talking to Him. He was really there. I can’t begin to describe how overwhelming it is to realize how many times He was right there with me. Not off in some far flung corner of the universe. But right here. The things I imagined were not imaginings.

But now, my relationship with Him is going to go to a whole new level, the likes of which I have dreamed of but couldn’t figure out how to get there. I know He will blow me away and change me in ways I can’t even imagine and I probably won’t even recognize my own self! 2013 will be a year I won’t forget and it will be a new beginning.

Awestruck, thunderstruck, wonderstruck. And I really have a tiny bottle of pixie dust. 😀

About warrriorforchrist

I am a Christian, a mother and a grandmother. I have two grown sons, who I love dearly, three grandchildren: two boys and one girl by each of my sons. I love design and went to college for it.
This entry was posted in Christian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to WONDERSTRUCK

  1. I saw your post and link in the “Best of 2012″ comments at A Holy Experience”. I’ve also been reading Wonderstruck and have the paperback book ordered. I enjoyed reading your thoughts so far, and I look forward to reading more after you’ve read the whole book. I wrote 3 preview posts titled, “Expecting God’s Wonder” on my blog here: http://learning2hear.com/ I’m glad to have found your blog, I’ll definitely be here awhile reading, and I’ll be back! Have a blessed and Wonderstruck New Year!

    • Margaret says:

      So thankful for all your support over the last several weeks. Love hearing how paths cross– may we all be left wonderstruck by the way God is moving and working in our lives.

  2. Thanks for your kind words. My blog is a little different than most and I write about things you would not expect to see here. Let’s keep in touch!

  3. Margaret says:

    So thrilled you ran across Wonderstruck. I think I need to get myself my own bottle of pixie dust as a reminder. I’d love to see a picture of your pixie dust– send one to wonderstruck@margaretfeinberg.com. Hug to you, Christine!

  4. I sent a picture of it from my gmail email client. Thanks so much for commenting!!
    God bless you!

Leave a Reply

