Kingdom of God Part II

So I’ve been thinking about being a citizen of Heaven and not of here. It puts a completely different complexion on things because you are really ruled by THERE not here. It probably explains why I feel like a stranger in a strange land most of the time. Why the things of this world no longer make sense and I find people’s actions strange. The fact that they even watch reality TV and get hooked on it is bizarre in my eyes. Or even sports. I have nothing against sports, other than I think athletes are WAY overpaid in comparison to those who perform a function like teachers. But fanaticism is beyond me and even parents becoming rude, crude and unbearable during their children’s sporting events are seen as weird in my eyes.

Or maybe it’s the sudden realization that I have been a citizen of Heaven all along and didn’t realize how much so until now. And that maybe God has been dropping hints in the form of glimmers of it and I’ve passed it off as my fanciful imagination. And how that changes a person when the fact crystallizes in one’s mind.

Today’s study is actually supposed to be about the fact that God cannot lie. (Hebrews 6:17-18) What He says is what He says. In fact, He cannot swear by anything else other than Himself because there is none higher than He. He put this in my head after reading a particular email from Blue Letter Bible on the subject. God says things plainly.

We are actually told to live by the Word of God and all His promises. Not our promises to Him but His promises to us and there are many. In fact, I have a book with all of them listed in there. Why are we to live by them? Because He is the ONLY One we can count on beyond a shadow of a doubt. Now sometimes I get the whim-whams when things come out of left field at me and I feel shaky. But Christ tells us NOT to be shaky for He is right there. He hasn’t gone anywhere, really.

Another reason to live by His promises is to dispel all doubts that enter our minds, either by our own self doubts or that of the enemy of God. Love casts out all fear. Live in His love. “This hope we have is an anchor for the soul, both sure and steadfast, which enters  the Presence behind the veil.” (Heb. 6:19) The veil, of course, has been rent, thus giving us access to the Holy of Holies…the Divine Presence of God.

I think part of the problem we have sometimes in matters of faith stem from the fact that we have been lied to and betrayed by humans. We then ,and very erroneously, attach those feelings to God. But we must realize that God is NOT human. He is another Being entirely different from anything we can possibly comprehend.

God is faithful, always faithful and trustworthy. (1 Cor. 1:9) There is no one in the entire universe I would place my trust in 100% but I will place it all in God. He never lies. However, satan does and he is out to destroy all of God’s children any way he can. (1Peter5:8) But we have a High Priest who can kick him to the curb. A High Priest who gave His life for us and will not let any of us be taken from him, no matter how much that useless angel lies.

There is going to come a very hard time in which we absolutely must rely on God and all His promises. It will be a time where we put aside all the stupid cares of this world and cling to the fact that we are citizens of Heaven and that’s where our true home is and our loyalty is only to God. We must prepare ourselves for battle like the good soldiers we are in Christ. The rumblings of trouble have already begun and it is only a matter of time before the cow chips hit the fan.

We must be holy as He is Holy. That just about says it all. Since we are citizens of Heaven we must strive to live up to that by allowing the Holy Spirit to work within us since we have absolutely no power of our own to accomplish that. Our human nature wars against it but with God all things are possible. We are to shine before this corrupt world. (Phil. 2:15) He sanctifies us. (John 17:17)

This all requires a lot of alone time with God because it cannot be accomplished if we don’t spend time drinking at the Source. If we neglect this, we dry up as old, dusty wells living in a land of spiritual drought.

About warrriorforchrist

I am a Christian, a mother and a grandmother. I have two grown sons, who I love dearly, three grandchildren: two boys and one girl by each of my sons. I love design and went to college for it.
This entry was posted in Christian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kingdom of God Part II

  1. W says:

    Well said! You may not have an advanced degree in theology but no doctor of divinity could have expressed this any better! Yes, we are most definitely citizens of Heaven. I love the USA but there may come a day when we have to choose. I pray we make the right choice.

Leave a Reply

