Mysteries of the Jesus Prayer

While waiting to find out how I am going to get the truck fixed, (and it might be the water pump now), I discovered that a DVD that I had ordered last week was sitting in my mailbox. I went out in the blazing heat and walked to the mailboxes and sure enough it was there. I was anxious to watch this DVD. It is called The Mysteries of the Jesus Prayer, produced by Norris Chumley and Rev. John McGuckin. I had seen bits and pieces of it over the year and wanted to get it but the opportunity never presented itself as other things took precedence. Well, I decided to just go and do it.

I’m glad I did. It is a wonderful documentary about the lives of monks, priests and nuns that live a monastic life in various parts of Europe. Dr. Norris Chumley and Rev. John McGuckin travel from monastery to monastery interviewing the monastics who live there and listen as they impart their wisdom which they have received from being so devoted to God. This is one of those DVDs that you have to watch a few times because you can’t remember everything the first time around.

One of the points of this documentary is to be silent before God. All too often we become way too consumed with the trials of this world and our lives. This entire world is going to pass away but we cling to it like it is going to last forever. You can hear God in the silence and feel His presence. He even commands us to “be still and know that I AM.” We have become so “busy” that true silence might seem odd to some. But it is a welcome relief; an oasis for the soul.  For in silence we find peace. The silence becomes a meditation.

God wants us to learn how to have peace now in the midst of all the storms in our lives and that He truly is in control.  The purpose of the Jesus Prayer is to refocus our minds on Him and to quiet the chatter going on within. The Prayer consists of 12 words, which I find interesting. 12 words, 12 apostles, 12 tribes of Israel, 12 foundations of the City of God which comes down from Heaven, 12 gates to that city, 12 pearls for each gate and 12 angels stand at the gates (Rev. 21-10-21).

Here is the prayer:

“Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me, a sinner.”

What was also interesting about the movie was that monastics from various monasteries and convents all said the prayer. It is what united them. They are prayer warriors praying quietly behind the scenes for this wretched world. Most are totally unaware of their existence but God is very aware. I have learned from their example just by the first viewing. I am sure there will be more when I watch it again. I can’t even adequately do the film justice here. You have to see it.

For anyone who is interested go here: http://mysteriesofthejesusprayer.com/wp1/products-page/

You won’t regret it. 🙂

About warrriorforchrist

I am a Christian, a mother and a grandmother. I have two grown sons, who I love dearly, three grandchildren: two boys and one girl by each of my sons. I love design and went to college for it.
This entry was posted in Christian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mysteries of the Jesus Prayer

  1. W says:

    “Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me, a sinner.” I have come to believe that God’s mercy already surrounds us like a warm blanket. God is love and mercy is one of the many attributes of love. So, in a way God can’t help Himself. To deny mercy would be to deny Himself. And that is the one thing God cannot do. But I still love this prayer. I don’t see it as a plea for mercy. I see it as a reminder of what He has already given us in His Son.

Leave a Reply

