Jesus

From time to time when things are quiet in the house, I think of what it will be like to be changed from mortal to immortal. For some reason, there are people out there that believe we will have our human bodies. I don’t know why they think that because scripture clearly says we won’t. We will be immortal (I Cor. 15:42-44; 50-54). Jesus sure doesn’t have His old body. Yes, He can appear to be in it as He did when He appeared to the apostles after His resurrection and had Thomas touch His wounds (John 20:26-27). Scripture says the Lord is a consuming fire. (Hebrews 12:29) The book of Ezekiel and Revelations paints another picture of Him. But what Peter, James and John saw in Matthew 17 was Jesus in His full glory at a future time with Moses and Elijah and it was not the same body as appeared to the apostles behind a locked door after His resurrection. Moses and Elijah are not holier than God, Himself. Therefore, how on earth could they be in Heaven before Jesus even sacrificed Himself? And as far as Elijah and the chariot go, we are not told where he was taken. But we are told in John 3:13 that no man has ascended into Heaven except He that came down.  And you know who said that? Jesus.

One of the points of this post is the shock of going from our normal everyday life in this body, with all its aches, pains and imperfections, to a glorious body beyond description and to really live with Jesus and Dad (God the Father, for those who don’t know what I mean by Dad. He’s my Dad.). For those of us who are baptized Christians and have the Holy Spirit, Jesus right now is trying to live His life through us. Once we accept God as our Savior, King and Lord, He takes over. It’s a long process because we don’t just jump from our corrupt selves to holy selves. But we are commanded to be holy as God is Holy. I can’t even imagine my reaction to suddenly being changed and suddenly seeing Jesus for the first time. I am sure it will be indescribable bliss. I often think I will look down at my hand and see an eternal hand in its place….glowing. And then looking at others around me and realize I look as brilliant as they do. I’m just guessing. I might be too dumbstruck to do anything. We will still have our individual personalities but we will be like Jesus. It’s His attributes we will be taking on and are doing that right now.

What will it be like to be with Jesus? I sometimes try to put myself in His shoes (sandals) when He was here and try to imagine Him being in this heavy body when He was in an eternal one before; all glory and light. How frustrating it was for Him to deal with His creation sometimes. He even said “…How long shall I bear with you?” (Matthew 17:17) I have said to God that all I want is to be with Him all the time. I will be happy to just trail behind Him and just listen to everything He says, like an awe-struck kid, in a kingdom so wonderful, so vast, it will blow all of us away. I fully understand how Jesus could be our reward because that’s all I want. I just want to hang out with Him.

So here was an all loving, all powerful God trying to get a message across to His thick headed creation. Some got it, like the apostle John. But a lot didn’t until after His resurrection. I know for many years I didn’t get it, either. He tried to tell us how the spiritual far outweighs the physical. The spiritual matters. The physical doesn’t. Why? Because the Kingdom of God is ALL SPIRITUAL, that’s why. This physical world is going to pass away and be replaced by the spiritual. All the hardship and assorted evils we had to put  up with and deal with will be gone forever. Hooray!!

I also thought about Jesus when He had to face His death and the horrible torture that preceded it. Mel Gibson did a rather graphic rendition in his movie The Passion of the Christ, but I think it was much worse than that. Jesus was brutalized beyond recognition and experienced an intensity of pain we won’t ever experience and if we did, we’d have passed out or just died. But He held on because He had to make it to the cross. All for love.

We don’t love like He does. We don’t know how. We would never put ourselves through the sacrifice He put Himself through for the love of all humanity since Adam and Eve.  He can teach us but I think we still fall short of His Divine Love. We owe Him everything because without Him we are nothing. He is the Darling of Heaven.

So come, Lord Jesus, come and bring us into Your Kingdom.

About warrriorforchrist

I am a Christian, a mother and a grandmother. I have two grown sons, who I love dearly, three grandchildren: two boys and one girl by each of my sons. I love design and went to college for it.
This entry was posted in Christian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jesus

  1. W says:

    You make several good points here, like how “The Passion…” as brutal as it was, still could not accurately portray the extent of Christ’s sufferings. But another very important point is about our final reward. Yes, I said reward (singular), not rewards (plural). Don’t get me wrong, I think there will be many delights in God’s kingdom. But our “mission” on earth is to be like Christ, and our ultimate reward is to be with Christ. Too many have been seduced by the “Prosperity Gospel”. That phrase is actually an oxymoron because the prosperity message is not the gospel at all, at least not not the gospel of Jesus Christ. Some have actually said “Jesus went to the cross so we could be rich…” Sorry if this offends anyone but that is nothing if not blasphemous! Could Jesus have made it more plain? To follow Him we have to give up everything we have and everything we are, not get everything we can get our hands on. There is no “give to get” with Jesus, unless it is give up our lives to get His life.

  2. Easier for a camel to go through an eye of a needle than a rich man to enter into the Kingdom of God.

Leave a Reply

