Design

I fell in love with designing when I was in college in 2004 and discovered I had some talent. I taught myself Photoshop and was only able to buy the design suite because I had leftover money from my student loans, plus got a great discount at a student site. I love whimsy and fun things. Picture to the left is a banner header I previously used on my website and plan on using again since I am going to do an overhaul of the site.

I took the pictures of the trees with faces when I was living in Florida in 2007. The title of the site, Design For God came to me during my class in web design. We had to  design our own site and it would be my very first one that would actually be a live site. This particular banner was not the original one. But there I was sitting in class and suddenly the words flew through my head and so there it is. Since whatever talent I have comes from God, it is only right that He gets the credit.

The site evolved into a blog site of sorts but now I want it as a purely design site and this one as the blog. On the first page of the website is a quote from A.W. Tozer:

 “We cannot grasp the true meaning of the divine holiness by thinking of someone or something very pure and then raising the concept to the highest degree we are capable of.

God’s Holiness is not simply the best we know infinitely bettered. We know nothing like the divine holiness. It stands apart, unique, unapproachable, incomprehensible, and unattainable.

The natural man is blind to it. He may fear God’s power and admire His wisdom, but His Holiness he cannot even imagine.”

I was always struck by that quote and every time I read it, I am in awe of God. I cannot imagine what His Holiness is like because I live in such a corrupt and vile world that the purity of God and the Holiness of Him is so far above me that I am blown away by the concept of it.

And yet…we are part of His design.

I have asked myself from time to time questions that can never be answered this side of Heaven. Such as: what did God do before He created this entire universe and us in it? Well He has always existed, hasn’t He. Then it stands to reason He was doing other things in eternity that we will never have knowledge of till He tells us. Can we imagine what that is? No, we can’t. Why? Because anyone that can create a universe by thought is capable of things far beyond our feeble imaginations.

About warrriorforchrist

I am a Christian, a mother and a grandmother. I have two grown sons, who I love dearly, three grandchildren: two boys and one girl by each of my sons. I love design and went to college for it.
This entry was posted in Christian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Design

  1. W says:

    I totally agree with the A.W. Tozer quote. We know what happened to the Apostle Paul when he “saw” the risen Christ on the Damascus road and even he could barely put it his experience in words. I did a quick search of the words “not seen” in Bible Gateway and got 5 hits, 2 in 1st Corinthians, 1 in 2nd Corinthinans and 2 in Colssians. Each verse is worthy of serious study on its own. Keep on keeping on…

  2. Thank you for your comment. I assume you mean this in reference to “not seen”: 2 Cor. 4:18 “while we do not look at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen. For the things which are seen [are] temporary, but the things which are not seen [are] eternal.” I know that we are visual people and look to what we can see…then I thought: well, a blind person might concentrate on what is not seen. Ah ha! Is that why Paul was blinded??

  3. Hi WarriorforChrist!

    I love your new blog – especially the heart behind hearing God speak to you through design. I know God must be smiling as He sees your heart express itself in the way He intended and designed you to be! Blessings as you shine for Him in just the way you can!

  4. Thank you so much, Bonnie. Your site is one of my favorites and I posted a link to it on the sidebar.

Leave a Reply

